Thursday, September 29, 2016

Stena Weco winner of Lloyd’s List Global Awards 2016

The annual Lloyd’s List Global Awards was held yesterday at the National Maritime Museum in Greenwich, London. Stena Weco, which is a joint venture between the Swedish Stena Bulk and the Danish Weco Shipping, was named winner in the category ClassNK Tanker Operator of the Year. The prize was awarded to the company that has shone brightly throughout the year and has demonstrated first class performance operationally and financially.

“We are of course very happy and grateful to receive the Lloyd’s List Global Awards 2016 in the category Class NK Tanker Operator of the Year. With the delivery of the IMOIIMAX-vessels during 2015-2016, we have together undertaken a large investment that has really come out in a good way. We are as well looking forward to a continued positive development of the cooperation within Stena Weco“, comment Erik Hånell, President and CEO, Stena Bulk AB /Stena Weco and Johnny Schmølker, CEO / COO, Weco Shipping / Stena Weco.

Stena Weco was established at the beginning of 2011 and is jointly owned equally by Stena Bulk and Weco Shipping. The shipping company specialises in transporting vegetable oils, chemicals and oil and petroleum products. At present, Stena Weco is one of the largest global shipping companies and controls some 60 MR-tankers. Stena Weco’s business model focusing on a high degree of flexibility has proved to be very successful. The fleet now consists of eight MR-tankers of IMOIIMAX-model and a further five are on order. The vessels have an innovative technical design with extra large cargo flexibility, a high level of safety and economical fuel consumption.

“We are very pleased with our IMOIIMAX-fleet and the eight vessels delivered so far. The business model with its high level of flexibility has proved to be very successful and we look forward to continued good performance,” Erik Hånell concludes.

To see the full list of Lloyd’s List Awards winners please visit:

For more information, please contact:
Erik Hånell, President / CEO Stena Bulk AB / Stena Weco Mobile tel: +46 704 855 002

Stena Weco, which was established at the beginning of 2011, is jointly owned (50-50) by the tanker shipping companies Stena Bulk and Weco Shipping. The shipping company specialises in the transportation of vegetable oils and chemicals. Today, Stena Weco is one of the largest global carriers. Its goal is to be a market-leading player in the MR tanker segment.

Weco Shipping consists of Weco Tankers, Weco RoRo, Weco Projects, Weco Bulk and Stena Weco. For further information, see:

With offices in six countries, Stena Bulk is one of the world’s leading tanker shipping companies. The company controls a combined fleet of around 120 tankers. Stena Bulk is part of the Stena Sphere, which has more than 20,000 employees and sales of SEK 60 billion.

Quote from Lloyd’s List press release:
In his opening speech, Richard Meade, managing editor of Lloyd’s List said ‘The Lloyd’s List award series are about bringing our business community together.

It’s about celebrating our combined achievements, but it’s also about recognising the transformation that is happening across our businesses.

At Lloyd’s List we think that the future belongs to those who can successfully tap into the opportunities that this transformation presents.’

Recipients are chosen from entries taken from around the world and adjudicated by a distinguished judging panel which this year included: Robert Ashdown, Secretary-General, International Association of Classification Societies; Andreas Chrysostomou, Director, Department of Shipping, Cyprus; Angus Frew, CEO, Bimco; Lars Green, CEO, Green Consulting Group; Helle Hammer, Managing Director, Cefor9The Nordic Association of Marine Insurers); David Hammond, CEO, Human Rights at Sea; Esben Poulsson, President, Singapore Shipping Association; Katharina Stanzel, Managing Director, Intertanko; Katy Ware, Permanent Representative of the UK, Maritime and Coastguard Agency; Chris Welsh MBE, Secretary-General, Global Shippers’ Forum; Niko Wijnolst, Professor (emeritus), Eramus University, Rotterdam.

The judges were won over this year by the way in which this merged partnership has managed to use its size to not just drive economies of scale, but to promote innovation and excellence.

The awards were attended by 450 industry professionals and were hosted by Fiona Bruce.

The awards are managed by Lloyd’s List - leading maritime commerce since 1734. – Lloyd’s List provides information, analysis and knowledge for business decision makers in a changing and increasingly complex shipping environment.